Learning russian

Hi guys ! Hope you are doing well and business is going as planned.

I have been learning Russian for some time. I know there are some Russian speakers in the community. I would like to know your tips for learning the language on your own. I just finished Babbel’s lessons (you could say I’m a false beginner). Going to Moscow in May, I would like to reach a good level before the deadline.

Many thanks for your answers guys. Kisses.

5 Likes

Hey Antoine,

Our fellow @Axel-RUS-G1 has several programs to teach you Russian. Check his website: https://russedebutant.fr/. He also has a Russian channel. I’m currently learning Serbian as I’ll live in Montenegro soon, but I want to go back to Russian around October with Axel’s programs and benefit from my Serbian language skills, as it is a Slavic language as well (and also, the fact Montenegro is full of Russians motivates me a lot).

Good luck in your learning, my friend. I’m glad you’re making an effort to appreciate this great country’s culture even more.

PS: A tip I use to learn languages is watching cartoons in your target language (in my case, Peppa Pig). It helped me to learn Portuguese and Italian.

3 Likes

A big big thank you for your advice! I’m going to look at Alex’s work right now, as well as Masha and the Bear.

Thank you very much moin friend.

2 Likes

Привет друзья!

Here’s an easy tip to fasten your learning path (and it works with any language) :

As a kid, I was a big fan of Harry Potter.

In French, I watched all the movies (more than once) and read the books.

When I was learning English, I naturally watched and read Harry Potter in English.

Same for Russian: as soon as I started to master it, I started to watch and read Harry Potter in Russian.

Of course, it’s not typical Russian litterature as Tolstoi or Dostoevski, but for a language learner, it’s perfect :wink: