Expats in Asia - Let's connect here!

Hi Folks,

I’d like to make an inventory of people on DBL who already took the plunge to expatriate in Asia, or who are (seriously) planning to. Things are vastly different around this continent, and traps are plenty. One can use a little solidarity.

For my part, I’ve been staying for a cumulated 2 years in Thailand, mainly in the south and a little bit in BKK. I’m familiar with basic VISA stuff, work regulations, and your usual VISA-run hell. If you’ve got any question about the Land of smiles, I’ll do my best to answer them, using my limited knowledge.

PS: and FYI, no, I know nothing about katoeys, sorry.

8 Likes

Hi Stan,

I’m in Taipei, I just arrived two weeks ago from France and I’m about to be free of my quarantine. For now I have the ARC so I’ll stay at least few years here.

Feel free to ask if you have question about Taiwan and expatriation here.

3 Likes

Japan here! :wave:

2 Likes

Hi Stan,

What do you mean, culturally, administratively, both ?

1 Like

Hello,

I am in China for 10 years now.

Feel free to ask me anything if you need. I will try to answer you. I can explain to you how is the life here. Maybe I can help you to take your decision.

Have a good day.

3 Likes

Hi Freddy,

thank you for your message.

I would actually be pretty interested by some real-life report about life in China. To be honest, I’ve been until now a bit put off by the mainland chinese people that I’ve come across while in Thailand. Very different from our french chinese!

That’s a pity, cause I totally fancy chinese girls :star_struck:

1 Like

Hello

I would like to expat to japan, but i think it is realy expensive

I can eat pasta all day for 3-4 month, time to lanch my internet buisness… How many money you think i need for this ? with 5 mettre spaces and only eating pasta ? :stuck_out_tongue: (i need a safe place no countryside)

1 Like